Town of Amherst Planning Commission Minutes August 3, 2022

A meeting of the Town of Amherst Planning Commission was called to order by Chairperson June Driskill on August 3, 2022, at 7:00 P.M. in the Council Chambers of Town Hall at 174 S. Main Street.

It was noted that a quorum was present as indicated below:

P	June Driskill	P	Janice N. Wheaton
P	William Jones	P	John Vandervelde
P	Anne Webster Day	P	Nathaniel Holden Chase
P	Clifford Hart		

Town Manager Sara McGuffin, and Clerk of Council Vicki K. Hunt, in her capacity as Secretary to the Commission, were present.

The Chair opened the floor for citizen comments.

,

There being no one present to speak; no comments were made.

Ms. Wheaton made a motion that was seconded by Mr. Hart to approve the minutes of the July 6, 2022, meeting.

There being no discussion, the motion to approve the July 6, 2022, minutes carried 7-0 according to the following:

June Driskill	Aye	Anne Webster Day	Aye
Janice Wheaton	Aye	John Vandervelde	Aye
William Jones	Aye	Nathaniel Holden Chase	Aye
Clifford Hart	Aye		

Chairperson Driskill opened a duly advertised public hearing at 7:01 PM on consideration of amending Section 18.1-902.02 of the Zoning and Subdivision Ordinances referring to accessory buildings, that would, if approved, amend setbacks for accessory structures as set out in Section 18.1-901.02 of the Town's Zoning and Subdivision Ordinances.

Town Manager McGuffin gave a brief report on Town Council's request to the Commissioners to determine whether the restrictions contained in Sec. 18.1-901.02 are still reasonable or if there should be any changes to the ordinance.

Terrell Stinson, Amherst, VA, came forward in favor of reducing the setbacks for accessory structures to allow residents more expansion space to make additions and improvements to their properties. Mr. Stinson's request included that the Commission study how surrounding counties and towns have structured their ordinances allowing for flexibility on set-back regulations that the Town does not now have.

There being no one else present who wished to speak on the matter, the public hearing was closed at 7:05 PM.

Mr. Jones made a motion that was seconded by Ms. Wheaton to recommend to Town Council that no changes be made to Section 18.1-901.02 of the Town's Zoning and Subdivision Ordinances.

After discussion, the motion carried 6-1 according to the following:

June Driskill	Aye	Anne Webster Day	Aye
Janice Wheaton	Aye	John Vandervelde	Aye
William Jones	Aye	Nathaniel Holden Chase	Nay
Clifford Hart	Aye		

After Town Manager McGuffin requested guidance from the Commissioners on interpretation of the regulations for temporary signage contained in Section 18.1-908.06, Signs Permitted in all sign districts and whether the language contained in the ordinance is sufficient, it was the consensus of the Commissioners that Section 18.1-908.1 contains sufficient language regulating temporary signage.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 7:25 P.M., until September 7, 2022, at 7:00 p.m., on motion of Ms. Wheaton seconded by Mr. Chase.

The motion carried 7-0 according to the following:

June Driskill	Aye	Anne Webster Day	Aye
Janice Wheaton	Aye	John Vandervelde	Aye
William Jones	Aye	Nathaniel Holden Chase	Aye
Clifford Hart	Aye		

		June Driskill, Chairperson
Attest:		
Allesi.	Secretary	